Reading Lists?

I’ve had reading lists before, but they seldom work out. Something about being confined to another “to-do” list on something I enjoy so much just turns me off. I like the idea of the list being a guide rather than a checklist.

I discovered a bookstore yesterday and went in without the slightest clue as to what I was going to buy. I was craving a book that I could get lost in, romance? mystery? history? theory? I didn’t know what it was. I browsed the isles for hours and finally settled on Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

The book is a mystery type and I enjoy it already. It wasn’t on my reading list, but now that I think about it, we shouldn’t have reading lists, but rather reading guides. Something to remind us what we are interested in reading next since usually we end up buying a book that wasn’t even on the “list” to begin with.

 

Leave a comment