ImageI like to consider myself a book reader (hence my self-baptized name, Brightworm), but somewhere along “growing up”, academia, and life in general, I lost sight of what I really liked to read. But with required reading in my Business Course : Fundamentals of Management and Organizational Behavior, I was reminded what I like to read.

I used to be into Historical Fiction, Fiction, and anything related to History. I’ve read many books on optimism, business-conduct/etiquette, and journals, but the one that has recently landed onto my list of favorite books is The Social Animal by David Brooks. It’s amazing! It’s awesome! Filled with studies, research, and facts…and with the characters in his books, you’ll find you or somebody you know can resonate with them.

The book is actually a story; it has characters, it has dialogue, but it also has research, studies, and suggestions to the behavior that causes the characters to conduct themselves in the way they do. I love it!

I don’t want to make this a book review, but I’ll post a link where you can read more, but if you like facts, some interesting concepts or reasoning behind what shapes us, you’ll enjoy the book. http://atrandom.com/author_david_brooks/ 

Has anyone else stumbled upon a book their Professor required for reading and ended up absolutely loving the book? I can’t be the only one!!

One thought on “

  1. If you like historical fiction, check out Russka. I came across it on a trip to Scandinavia and Russia. My philosophy professor had us read Tuesdays with Morrie. One of my all time favorites!

Leave a Reply

